lördag 30 april 2016

Gary Benson - The Concert (Pop/Rock Album UK 1973)

170:- (24-Bit Limited Remaster Edition. Utgången utgåva sedan länge.)

Gary Benson (born Harry Hyams, London) is an English singer-songwriter.

Benson spent eight weeks in the UK Singles Chart in 1975 with his own composition, "Don't Throw It All Away". The single, released on the State label (State Records STAT10), reached No. 20 in the chart, leading to an appearance on BBC Television's Top Of The Pops. 

The song had originally been recorded by The Shadows, and they had performed it in the 1975 A Song for Europe contest, where it finished fourth of six entries.

Benson had further attempts at winning the UK ticket to the Eurovision Song Contest, reaching the UK finals in 1977 with "After All This Time", performed by Wesley, Park and Smith, finishing fifth of 12; in 1981 with "All Cried Out", which he performed himself to place fourth of 8, and was later released on the WEA Records label; and in 1993 with "It's Just a Matter Of Time" performed by Sonia, finishing last of eight entries.

Benson's song "Let Her In", oddly credited to both Gary Benson and Harry Hyams, was recorded by John Travolta in 1975. 

Another of Benson's composition's, "Close To You", was recorded by Maxi Priest. In 1977, he composed and sang one of his sweetest melodies: "You" but never ranked in the UK charts.

01. Concert
02. Let Her In
03. Almost Forgot About Losing You
04. To Kill Another Day
05. Quiet Man
06. Safe Place To Live
07. Help Me Get Through
08. Sausalite
09. Best Things I Can Do
10. Closing Down Of The Old Porland Railway Company
11. No Guarantee