måndag 8 juli 2013

Dionne Warwick - AnyoneWho Had A Heart (Mycket Bra R&B US-1964)

290:- (24-Bit Limited Remaster Edition. Utgåva i både mono och stereo. Mycket bra R&B från 1964)

Anyone Who Had a Heart is the second album by American singer singer Dionne Warwick, released in 1964 on the Scepter label. It was produced by Burt Bacharach and Hal David.

The album is notable for including the title track, which became Warick's first top ten hit on the Billboard Hot 100. Also featured are three tracks which appeared on her first album, Presenting Dionne Warwick issued the year before: "Don't Make Me Over", '"This Empty Place", and "I Cry Alone". These three tracks are exactly identical to the versions on the previous album, and are not different takes or remixes. The album was digitally remastered and reissued on CD on November 29, 2011, by Collectables Records.

This is pop vocalist Dionne Warwick's second long-player, which builds off of her debut LP, Presenting Dionne Warwick (1963). Anyone Who Had a Heart (1964) continues her association with songwriters Hal David and Burt Bacharach. Her rich tonality is perfectly suited to their haunting and slightly noir material, although Warwick's immediate success with "Don't Make Me Over" was nearly stunted, as the tune was initially rejected by Scepter Records co-founder Florence Greenberg. 

Her mind was changed when the song, which had been relegated to a B-side, began to outperform the A-side, "I Smiled Yesterday," on both the pop and R&B charts. Perhaps that is why "Don't Make Me Over" is one of three prominent tunes to have been unceremoniously duplicated from Presenting Dionne Warwick -- the others being "This Empty Place" and "I Cry Alone." More likely than not the label was more eager to release a new platter than to wait for a dozen new recordings. 

In addition to the timeless lead composition, Warwick's version of "Wishin' and Hopin'" not only predates Dusty Springfield's hit, it was admittedly the framework for the Brit's blue-eyed soul rendering. "Make It Easy on Yourself" and the title track to Warwick's second album, Anyone Who Had a Heart, also garnered copious airplay and became concert staples. Doc Pomus/Mort Shuman's Latin-tinged "Shall I Tell Her" and the soulful reading of "Zip-A-Dee-Doo-Dah" -- which may have been the blueprint for the Jackson 5's cover -- are likewise keepers.

~~ Stereo ~~ 
01. "Anyone Who Had a Heart"  3:11
02. "Shall I Tell Her" (Doc Pomus, Mort Shuman)  2:33
03. "Don't Make Me Over"  2:46
04. "I Cry Alone"  2:37
05. "Getting Ready for the Heartbreak" (Lockie Edwards Jr., Larry Weiss)  2:30
06. "Oh Lord, What Are You Doing to Me" (Luther Dixon, Bert Keyes)  3:14
07. "Any Old Time of Day"  3:08
08. "Mr. Heartbreak" (Barbara English, Al Cleveland)  2:33
09. "Put Yourself in My Place" (Reggie Obrecht, William Drain) 2:20
10. "I Could Make You Mine"  2:25
11. "This Empty Place"   2:55
12. "Please Make Him Love Me"  2:33

~~ Mono ~~
13. "Anyone Who Had a Heart"  3:11
14. "Shall I Tell Her" (Doc Pomus, Mort Shuman) 2:33
15. "Don't Make Me Over"  2:46
16. "I Cry Alone"  2:37
17. "Getting Ready for the Heartbreak" (Lockie Edwards Jr., Larry Weiss)  2:30
18. "Oh Lord, What Are You Doing to Me" (Luther Dixon, Bert Keyes)  3:14
19. "Any Old Time of Day"  3:08
20. "Mr. Heartbreak" (Barbara English, Al Cleveland)  2:33
21. "Put Yourself in My Place" (Reggie Obrecht, William Drain) 2:20
22. "I Could Make You Mine"  2:25
23. "This Empty Place"   2:55
24. "Please Make Him Love Me"  2:33