tisdag 17 maj 2011

Roy Orbison - Orbisongs (US 1965)

240:- (24-Bit Limited Remaster Edition.Utgången utgåva sedan länge.)

Orbisongs is the last album recorded by Roy Orbison for the Monument label before he signed with MGM Records. The album was released in 1965.

Roy Kelton Orbison (April 23, 1936 – December 6, 1988) was an American singer-songwriter and musician, well known for his distinctive, powerful voice, complex compositions, and dark emotional ballads. Orbison grew up in Texas and began singing in a rockabilly/country & western band in high school until he was signed by Sun Records in Memphis. His greatest success came with Monument Records in the early to mid 1960s when 22 of his songs placed on the Billboard Top Forty, including "Only the Lonely", "Crying", "In Dreams", and "Oh, Pretty Woman". 

His career stagnated through the 1970s, but several covers of his songs and the use of one in a film by David Lynch revived his career in the 1980s. In 1988, he joined the supergroup Traveling Wilburys with George Harrison, Bob Dylan, Tom Petty, and Jeff Lynne and also released a new solo album. He died of a heart attack in December that year, at the zenith of his resurgence. His life was marred by tragedy, including the death of his first wife and two of his children in separate accidents.

Orbison was a natural baritone, but music scholars have suggested that he had a three- or four-octave range. The combination of Orbison's powerful, impassioned voice and complex musical arrangements led many critics to refer to his music as operatic, giving him the sobriquet "the Caruso of Rock". Performers as disparate as Elvis Presley and Bono stated his voice was, respectively, the greatest and most distinctive they had ever heard. 

While most men in rock and roll in the 1950s and 1960s portrayed a defiant masculinity, many of Orbison's songs instead conveyed a quiet, desperate vulnerability. He was known for performing while standing still and solitary, wearing black clothes and dark sunglasses which lent an air of mystery to his persona.

Orbison was initiated into the second class of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1987 by longtime admirer Bruce Springsteen. The same year he was inducted into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame. Rolling Stone placed Orbison at number 37 in their list of The Greatest Artists of All Time. In 2002, Billboard magazine listed Orbison at number 74 in the Top 600 recording artists. Rolling Stone rated Orbison number 13 in their list of The 100 Greatest Singers of All Time in 2008.

01."Oh, Pretty Woman" - (Orbison, Bill Dees)
02."Dance" - (Orbison, Joe Melson)
03."(Say) You're My Girl" - (Orbison, Bill Dees)
04."Goodnight" - (Orbison, Bill Dees)
05."Nitelife" - (Orbison, Joe Melson)
06."Let The Good Times Roll" - (Leonard Lee)
07."(I Get So) Sentimental" - (Orbison, Joe Melson)
08."Yo Te Amo Maria" - (Orbison, Bill Dees)
09."Wedding Day" - (Orbison, Joe Melson)
10."Sleepy Hollow" - (Bill Dees)
11."22 Days" - (Gene Pitney)
12."I'd Be A Legend In My Time" - (Don Gibson)
+ 9 Bonus Tracks