söndag 1 mars 2009

James Brown & His Famous Flames - Tour the U.S.A. (US 1962)

240:- (24-Bit Limited Remaster Edition, utgången utgåva sedan 2007.)

Killer early work by James Brown -- one of the best pre-funk albums on King, and really stuffed with great obscure numbers! The "tour" part is a bit of a misnomer -- as the album only features studio work, not live tracks -- but it is a great excuse for the record to have a cool cover with James in front of a map of the USA!

Tracks are a mix of instrumentals and hard soul numbers -- all very raw and rootsy, much more in the early style of James' best R&B work. Titles include "Sticky", "Cross Firing", "Choo Choo Locomotion", "Doin The Limbo", "Joggin Along", "I've Got Money", "Like A Baby", and "Three Hearts In A Tangle".

01. Mashed Potatoes U.S.A.
02. Choo-Choo Loco-Motion
03. Three Hearts In A Tangle
04. Doin' The Limbo
05. I Don't Care
06. Joggin' Along
07. I've Got Money
08. Sticky
09. Like A Baby
10. Every Beat Of My Heart
11. In The Wee Wee Hours (Of The Nite)
12. Cross Firing