tisdag 31 januari 2017

Elmore James & John Brim - Whose Muddy Shoes (US 1969)

250:- (24-Bit Limited Remaster Edition. Utgången utgåva sedan 2007. Mycket bra album.)

Fifties Chicago blues brethren James and Brim share the spotlight on the return of a long-unavailable 1969 Chess album. James's rousing vocals perfectly suit the racy mood defined by the Broomdusters on nine songs, from the famous "Dust My Broom" to the little-known "Tool Box Blues," His guitar, of course, plays a big role, showcasing the intense drama and portentous technique of a postwar twelve-bar blues paladin. Singer/guitarist Brim's six sides, made in 1953 and 1956, tell of his honesty and modest skill, with only "Tough Times," elbowed along by Snooky Prior's harmonica and Eddie Taylor's guitar, leaving a lasting impression for its edgy music and timelessly pertinent lyrics.

Elmore James had recorded a session for Chess in 1953 before settling down with the Bihari Brothers and again in 1960, shortly before starting his final recordings for Bobby Robinson's Fire, Fury and Enjoy labels. This collects up all of them on CD with the bonus addition of an alternate take of "The Sun Is Shining," which can be interpreted as a precursor to his later hit "The Sky Is Crying." The earlier sides from 1953 lack his inimitable slide, but the 1960 session produced classics like "Talk to Me Baby," "Madison Blues" and a powerful reading of T-Bone Walker's "Stormy Monday." These tracks of James working with the Chess production team are delightfully fleshed out with a half-dozen gems by the highly underrated John Brim, some of which include stellar harp work by Little Walter ("Rattlesnake," "Be Careful" — on which Walter stops playing in several spots to become an ad-lib backup vocalist — and "You Got Me") as well as the original version of "Ice Cream Man," better known to rock fans from Van Halen's cover version of it from their debut album.

01. Ice Cream Man (Recorded May 1953)
02. Whose Muddy Shoes (Recorded January 1953)
03. Madison Blues (Recorded April 1960)
04. I See My Baby (Recorded January 1953)
05. You Got Me - John Brim, Elmore James (Recorded April 1956)
06. My Best Friend (Recorded January 1953)
07. Sun Is Shining - John Brim, Elmore James (Recorded April 1960)
08. Lifetime Baby (Recorded May 1953)
09. Talk to Me Baby(Recorded April 1960)
10. Rattlesnake (Recorded May 1953)
11. Be Careful (Recorded April 1956)
12. Dust My Broom (Recorded January 1953)
13. Tool Bag Boogie (Recorded January 1953)
14. Tough Times (Recorded December 1953)
15. Stormy Monday - John Brim, Elmore James (Recorded April 1960)

Bonus Tracks
16. The Sun is Shining (Alternate) (Recorded April 1960)
17. Gary Stomp (Recorded March 1954)