tisdag 31 januari 2017

Bert Jansch - It Don't Bother Me (2:a Albumet UK 1965)

240:- (24-Bit Limited Remaster Edition. Laminerat "Flipback" omslag. Utgången utgåva sedan 2005. Svår att hitta.)

Basically an extension of his 1965 debut, Bert Jansch's second album is perhaps a bit lighter in mood and doesn't boast quite as strong material, although it's nearly in the same league. Includes one of his most explicitly political songs ("Anti-Apartheid"), his first recording with John Renbourn ("Lucky Thirteen," a Renbourn original), and his first use of banjo on record ("900 Miles").

It Don't Bother Me is the second album by Scottish folk musician Bert Jansch, released in December 1965. The album was produced by Nathan Joseph and Bill Leader, although Leader was left uncredited.

The album features nine songs composed by Jansch, one by Alex Campbell ("So Long (Been on the Road So Long)"), and the traditional "900 Miles". For this last Jansch accompanies himself on the banjo rather than the steel-string acoustic guitar which he uses elsewhere. "A Man I'd Rather Be" features lead vocals by Roy Harper. "My Lover" also has Harper playing some additional guitar, while John Renbourn is playing the lead acoustic guitar part. "Lucky Thirteen" is a guitar duet with Renbourn, based on a song written by the latter and apparently recorded during the Bert and John session. Finally, "Tinkers Blues" and "The Wheel" are guitar instrumentals composed and performed by Jansch.

01. "Oh, My Babe" – 3:56
02. "Ring-a-Ding Bird" – 4:39
03. "Tinker's Blues" – 1:04
04. "Anti Apartheid" – 4:02
05. "The Wheel" – 1:45
06. "A Man I'd Rather Be" – 2:04
07. "My Lover" – 4:00
08. "It Don't Bother Me" – 4:25
09. "Harvest Your Thoughts of Love" – 2:12
10. "Lucky Thirteen" (John Renbourn) – 3:30
11. "As the Day Grows Longer Now" – 3:40
12. "So Long (Been on the Road So Long)" (Alex Campbell) – 3:10
13. "Want My Daddy Now" – 1:33
14. "900 Miles" (Traditional) – 3:03