onsdag 30 november 2016

Jeff Beck - Truth (1st Album UK 1968 w. Bonus Tracks) (A Must In Every Collection)

280:- (24-Bit Limited Remaster Edition. Original "flipback" konvolut. Bonustracks. Utgången utgåva sedan 2005.)

Geoffrey Arnold ("Jeff") Beck (born June 24, 1944 in Wallington, Greater London, England) is an English guitarist and songwriter. Though he played in several influential bands in the 1960s and 1970s (notably in The Yardbirds) Beck has maintained a sporadic solo career over the last 25 years. Despite never attaining the commercial viability of his contemporaries, Beck has gained widespread critical acclaim, especially in the guitar playing community. He has won many grammy awards in the category for best rock instrumental. 

Never one to be tied to one particular genre, he has experimented with blues rock, heavy metal, and jazz fusion. Most recently, he has absorbed the influence of techno, creating a blend of heavy guitar rock and electronica.

Like many rock musicians in the early 1960s, he began his career working as a session guitarist. In 1965, following a gig with the Tridents, Beck was recruited to join the Yardbirds (after Eric Clapton had left the group for John Mayall's Bluesbreakers). It was during his tenure with the Yardbirds that they recorded most of their hits. His volatile temper, coupled with the unreliable nature of amplifiers in those days, resulted in many incidents of taking out his frustration on his equipment, although he rarely actually destroyed his guitars. In 1966, he shared the dual-lead guitar role with Jimmy Page. His time with The Yardbirds was short, allowing Beck only one full album, Roger the Engineer (1966); Beck left after 18 months, partly for health reasons.

While on the surface Beck seems to have departed the group because of his health, Jimmy Page, who had been invited into the band in 1966 by Beck himself, tells a different story:

“ It was on that Dick Clark tour — there were a few incidents. One time in the dressing room I walked in and Beck had his guitar up over his head, about to bring it down on Keith Relf’s head, but instead smashed it on the floor,” Jimmy Page recalled years later. “Relf looked at him with total astonishment and Beck said, ‘Why did you make me do that?’ Fucking hell. Everyone said, ‘My goodness gracious, what a funny chap.’ We went back to the hotel and Beck showed me his tonsils, said he wasn’t feeling well and was going to see a doctor. He left for L.A., where we were headed anyway. 

When we got there, though, we realized that whatever doctor he was claiming to see must’ve had his office in the Whiskey. He was actually seeing his girlfriend, Mary Hughes, and had just used the doctor bit as an excuse to cut out on us. ”

The following year, Beck formed a new band called The Jeff Beck Group, which featured him on lead guitar, Rod Stewart on vocals, Ron Wood on bass, Nicky Hopkins on piano, and Micky Waller on drums. The group produced two albums, Truth in 1968 and Beck-Ola the following year. These two albums are highly acclaimed, and are considered by some to be among the precursors to heavy metal. Owing to friction within the band, Stewart and Wood left the group in 1969 to replace Steve Marriott in the Small Faces.

Truth (1968) was the first full-length album by Jeff Beck and his backing group. Highlighted by covers of the Yardbirds' "Shapes of Things", Willie Dixon's "I Ain't Superstitious" and the traditional "Greensleeves", it is considered by many to be one of the first heavy metal albums, preceding the early Led Zeppelin albums, with which it has much in common in terms of its approach. Jeff Beck later accused Jimmy Page of stealing his idea when Led Zeppelin's first album also contained a cover of the Willie Dixon song, "You Shook Me", which led to an argument between the two and had a negative effect on their friendship. Nevertheless, they seem to have come to terms now, after doing a common interview for the Classic Rock magazine.

 Jeff Beck – electric guitars, acoustic guitar on "Greensleeves"; pedal steel guitar on "Shapes of Things"; bass guitar on "Ol' Man River"; lead vocals on "Tallyman" and "Hi Ho Silver Lining", backing vocals on "Let Me Love You"
 Rod Stewart – lead vocals, possible backing vocal on "Tallyman"
 Ron Wood – bass guitar
 Micky Waller – drums

Additional personnel
 Madeline Bell – backing vocals on "I've Been Drinking"
 John Carter and Ken Lewis – backing vocals on "Tallyman"
 Clem Cattini – drums on "Hi Ho Silver Lining"
 Aynsley Dunbar – drums on "Tallyman" and "Rock My Plimsoul (single version)"
 Nicky Hopkins – piano on "Morning Dew", "You Shook Me", "Beck's Bolero" and "Blues Deluxe"
 John Paul Jones – bass guitar on "Hi Ho Silver Lining" and "Beck's Bolero"; Hammond organ on "Ol' Man River" and "You Shook Me"; arrangements on "Hi Ho Silver Lining"
 Keith Moon – drums on "Beck's Bolero"; timpani on "Ol' Man River"
 Jimmy Page – 12-string electric guitar on "Beck's Bolero"

01. "Shapes of Things"  Jim McCarty, Keith Relf, Paul Samwell-Smith  03:22
02. "Let Me Love You"  Jeffrey Rod  04:44
03. "Morning Dew"  Bonnie Dobson  04:40
04. "You Shook Me"  Willie Dixon, J. B. Lenoir  02:33
05. "Ol' Man River"  Jerome Kern, Oscar Hammerstein II  04:01
06. "Greensleeves"  Traditional  01:50
07. "Rock My Plimsoul"  Jeffrey Rod  04:13
08. "Beck's Bolero"  Jimmy Page  02:54
09. "Blues Deluxe"  Jeffrey Rod  07:33
10. "I Ain't Superstitious"  Willie Dixon  04:53

Bonus Tracks
11. "I've Been Drinking" (stereo mix)  Jeffrey Rod  03:25
12. "You Shook Me" (take 1)  Willie Dixon, J. B. Lenoir  02:31
13. "Rock My Plimsoul" (stereo mix of single version)  Jeffrey Rod  03:42
14. "Beck's Bolero" (mono single mix) Jimmy Page  03:11
15. "Blues Deluxe" (take 1)  Jeffrey Rod  07:31
16. "Tallyman"  Graham Gouldman  02:46
17. "Love Is Blue"  André Popp, Pierre Cour, Brian Blackburn  02:57
18. "Hi Ho Silver Lining" (stereo mix)  Scott English, Laurence Weiss  03:46