fredag 7 oktober 2016

Foghat - Energized (Heavy Bluesrock US 1974)

230:- (24-Bit Limited Remaster Edition, för länge sedan en utgången utgåva. OBS - "obi" fliken finns med, dock inte på bilden.)

The band initially featured Dave Peverett ("Lonesome Dave") on guitar and vocal, Tony Stevens on bass, and Roger Earl on drums. They added Rod Price on guitar/slide guitar and formed Foghat upon leaving Savoy Brown in December 1970. Their 1972 album Foghat had a hit with a cover of Willie Dixon's "I Just Want to Make Love to You". The band's second self-titled album was also known as Rock and Roll for its cover photo of a rock and a bread roll, and it went gold. Energized came out in 1974, followed by Rock and Roll Outlaws and Fool for the City in 1975, the year that Stevens left the band. Stevens was replaced temporarily by Nick Jameson in 1975 when the band recorded Fool For The City, Jameson's only album with the band.

In the next year, he was replaced again permanently by Craig MacGregor in 1976, and the group produced Night Shift in 1976, a live album in 1977, and Stone Blue in 1978, each reaching "gold" record sales. Fool for the City spawned two hit singles, the title track and "Slow Ride" (which reached number 20 on the US charts), but the greatest sales figures were for Foghat Live, which sold over 2,000,000 copies. Rod Price left the band in 1980 and was replaced by Erik Cartwright. After 1978, Foghat record sales were far lower, and their last album, Zig-Zag Walk in 1983, only touched at the charts at #192.

After Dave Peverett left in 1984 and went back to England the group disbanded. But Earl, along with MacGregor, Cartwright and others reformed the group in 1986 and continued touring as Foghat into the early nineties. Roger Earl's Foghat went through a number of players over the next few years. Craig MacGregor continued until the end of '86, when he departed several bassist were in and out in the following years.

In 1993, the original lineup reunited and released a studio album entitled Return of the Boogie Men in 1994 and a live album entitled Road Cases in 1998. The final album of the decade, King Biscuit Flower Hour from the syndicated radio show of the same name, was released in May of 1999, and consisted of live recordings from 1974 and 1976.

Drummer Roger Earl and current lead singer, Charlie Huhn performing at their CD Release Party in NYC for their latest album "Live II".The 2000s saw the death of founding members Dave Peverett and Rod Price. Peverett died in February of 2000 from cancer, and Price died on March 22, 2005 from a heart attack as a result of a head injury sustained in a fall down a flight of stairs.

After the death of founder Dave Peverett, the band re-formed with two of the founding members (drummer Roger Earl, and bass player Tony Stevens), plus Bryan Bassett, and Charlie Huhn, (a vocalist for Ted Nugent for a brief time), released the studio album Family Joules in 2003 – the first without the late "Lonesome Dave" Peverett. Tony Stevens has since been replaced again by Craig MacGregor. In 2006, a follow up to the best-selling Live album was released - Live II.

01. "Honey Hush" - 4:21
02. "Step Outside" - 6:56
03. "Golden Arrow" - 6:18
04. "Home in My Hand" - 4:03
05. "Wild Cherry" - 5:13
06. "That'll Be the Day" - 5:27
07. "Fly by Night" - 2:53
08. "Nothin' I Won't Do" - 4:47