fredag 30 september 2016

Wind - Morning (Great German Progressive Rock 1972)

220:- (24-Bit Limited Remaster Edition. (Studio Album, released in 1972. Svår att hitta. Utgången utgåva sedan 2010.)

This album was a pleasant surprise considering nobody reviewed it.

Much different (and better IHMO) than their debut album. This album will sure to please anyone who liked the apocolyptic feel of King Crimson's Epitah with the mellotron swirls and melancholic melodies that reflect doom.
For anyone who likes mellotrons, I highly recommend this. The vocalist at times reminds me of Peter Gabriel but he's not a clone in any way/shape or form.

In addition to the mellotron swirls and sometimes dramatic vocals, it was a pleasant surprise to hear vocal harmonies much in the way of early Crosby Stills and Nash. The only weak song on this album is the closing track Josephine which should have perhaps been left off the album. It's not a horrible song. It's just a straight ahead rocker with no progressive tendancies and has nothing to do with the general flow of the album. Consider that song the Cat food of King Crimson's 2nd album.

Other than that, there's really not much more to say. If you like the King Crimson Epitaph sound with a little bit of the Gabriel delivery, you should not be disappointed. Like most other progressive albums, a few listens to let it grow. Best track is Dragon's Maid but they're all good except for the closer.

Musicians Steve Leistner (vocals), Thomas Leidenberger (guitar, vocals), Andreas Bueler (bass), Lucian Bueler (keyboards) and Lucky Schmidt (drums, percussion, mellotron) started their recording career with an album of cover versions as Corporal Gander's Fire Dog Brigade: "On The Rocks" (1970). It was recorded before Leistner joined and they adopted the name Wind. In 1971, they recorded the legendary album, "Seasons" - one of the most sought-after German albums nowadays. This was the second of three releases on the budget-priced Plus label.

This varied album captured Wind in different moods: "Dear Little Friend" was a thundering heavy rocker and "What Do We Do Now" - a vintage progressive rock anthem with fine use of organ and flute. "Romance" is a charming interlude for piano and "Now It's Over" had melancholic, folky vibes like Pink Floyd circa 1969. "Springwind" had haunting vocal lines, and finally came the 15-minute closing track, "Red Morningbird" with its floating, moody folk whispering, interrupted by some outrageously heavy outbursts. This is one of the classics of German progressive rock that will always be remembered for its powerful Hammond organ dueling with electric guitar sound; it should appeal both to fans of progressive heavy rock and those of folk-rock, as performed by the artists on the Pilz label.

The second album, "Morning" had a different, folky and lyrical fairy-tale atmosphere. The opening track "Morning Song" sounded almost like Procol Harum! "The Princess And The Minstrel" (also released as a 33 rpm single with "Schlittenfart" as the B-side!) was a long, partly spoken tale. "Dragon's Maid", "Carnival" and "Tommy's Song" could be compared to the legendary British group Spring, with their soft mellotron textures. This was another very good album, although I'm not sure it would appeal to the same audience as their first album.

After one further 1973 single ("Josephine" coupled with "Puppet Master"), Wind's relationship with CBS ended.

01. Morning Song (3:59)
02. The Princess And The Minstrel (6:39)
03. Dragon's Maid (8:39)
04. Carnival (7:56)
05. Schlittenfahrt (3:08)
06. Puppet Master (3:25)
07. Tommy's Song (5:28)
08. Josephine (3:38)