söndag 7 augusti 2016

Dave Edmunds - Rockpile (1:a Albumet UK 1972)

240:- (24-Bit Limited Remaster Edition. Dave Edmunds första solo album. Ett måste i samlingen!)

Rockpile was the first solo album by Dave Edmunds, released in 1972. It is principally focused on remakes of late 1950s and early 1960s hits, with a few new songs included. Edmunds plays almost all the instruments except for bass and backing vocals, which are contributed by John Williams, Edmunds' former bandmate in Love Sculpture. The album included a 1970 British #1 and worldwide Top 10 single, "I Hear You Knocking".

Dave Edmunds' debut album Rockpile established his sound -- not only his revivalist tendencies, but also his method of meticulously recreating the sound and style of classic early rock & roll, R&B, and country records. Edmunds plays nearly every instrument on the album, with bassist John Williams being the only full-time collaborator. 

As a result, the record doesn't sound "live," it has a pinched, precise quality that may contradict the spontaneity that was at the core of the original singles, but it does offer an otherworldly quality that makes the record distinctive. 

Take the hit "I Hear You Knocking," which has a mechanical rhythm and a weird, out-of-phase vocal that qualifies as an original interpretation, unlike his by-the-book take on Chuck Berry's "The Promised Land," which suffers from the stiff rhythms. Still, the best moments on Rockpile come from songs like "Down, Down, Down," an obscure gem that manages to recreate not only the sound, but the feeling of classic rock & roll, perhaps because Edmunds wasn't concerned with recreating one of his beloved singles.

01. "Down Down Down" (Trevor Burton) – 2:52
02. "I Hear You Knocking" (Dave Bartholomew, Pearl King) – 2:48
03. "Hell of a Pain" (John Williams, Dave Edmunds) – 2:55
04. "It Ain't Easy" (Ron Davies) – 3:11
05. "Promised Land" (Chuck Berry) – 2:37
06. "Dance Dance Dance" (Neil Young) – 2:58
07. "(I'm a) Lover Not a Fighter" (Ron Collier) – 3:33
08. "Egg or the Hen" (Willie Dixon) – 4:15
09. "Sweet Little Rock & Roller" (Chuck Berry) – 2:39
10. "Outlaw Blues" (Bob Dylan) – 5:09