onsdag 13 juli 2016

Deep Purple - The House of Blue Light (2nd Reunion Album UK 1987)

240:- (24-Bit Limited Remaster Edition. Klassiker...)

The House of Blue Light is the twelfth studio album by Deep Purple, released in 1987. It is the second recording by the re-formed Mark II line-up.

The album's creation was an exceedingly long and difficult process, and Ritchie Blackmore has said much of it was re-recorded. Ian Gillan has remarked on how strained relations within the band compromised the album: "I look back at House Of Blue Light, there are some good songs on that record, but there’s something missing in the overall album. 

I can’t feel the spirit of this band. I can see or hear five professionals doing their best, but it’s like a football team, it’s not functioning. It’s like eleven superstars that are playing on the same field but are not connected by the heart or by the spirit". Added organist Jon Lord, "We made the massive mistake of trying to make our music current. We discovered that people didn't want us to do that.

Though it was considered a disappointment upon its release (indeed, its production was much too sleek at times, and it lacked the creative daring of Perfect Strangers), 1987's House of Blue Light has actually stood the test of time just as well, if not better, than its predecessor. 

The second effort from the re-formed Mark II lineup, this album showed Deep Purple searching for an '80s-flavored hit single, and by doing so, sounding uncomfortably similar to guitarist Ritchie Blackmore's other band, Rainbow. Virtually all of the record's first half suffers from this (especially "Unwritten Law" and "Bad Attitude"), but things improve with the Eastern-flavored melodies of "The Spanish Archer" and "Strange Ways." 

The eerie sound textures explored on the latter evoke memories of classic Purple, and finally allow some space for soloing from Blackmore and keyboardist Jon Lord. And the telltale lyrics to the equally interesting "Mitzi Dupree" (based on a true story), are vintage Ian Gillan, as the singer combines James Bond-style international intrigue with high comedy.

01. "Bad Attitude" (Blackmore, Gillan, Glover, Lord)  05:04
02. "The Unwritten Law" (Blackmore, Gillan, Glover, Paice)  04:54
03. "Call of the Wild" (Gillan, Blackmore, Glover, Lord)  04:48
04. "Mad Dog"  04:36
05. "Black & White" (Blackmore, Gillan, Glover, Lord)  04:39
06. "Hard Lovin' Woman"  03:25
07. "The Spanish Archer"  05:31
08. "Strangeways"  07:36
09. "Mitzi Dupree"  05:05
10. "Dead or Alive"  05:00