söndag 5 juni 2016

Johnny Cash - Now Here's Johnny Cash (Superb Album US 1958, Released 1961)

240:- (24-Bit Limited Remaster Edition. Mycket bra album utgiven på SUN Records 1961, Ett måste i skivsamlingen.)

Johnny Cash left Sun Records in 1958 to sign with Columbia, and three years later he was a bigger star than ever and well on his way to becoming one of the living legends of country music. Sun, naturally, wanted to take advantage of Cash's growing popularity, and 1961's Now Here's Johnny Cash was a "new" album from their former star tacked together from single sides, unreleased tunes and demos gussied up with overdubs for their release on LP. Now Here's Johnny Cash is a rather curious hodgepodge, but it's also a satisfying listen and features a handful of top-shelf tunes. 

"Cry! Cry!'Cry!,", "Hey Porter" and "Home of the Blues" had all been hits for Cash, and with good reason, while two of his early compositions, "Port of Lonely Hearts" and "My Treasure," made their first public appearances on this album. 

While "Sugartime" and "Down the Street to 301" are just too sentimental to sound comfortable coming from Cash, he handles them with graceful aplomb, and his take on Don Gibson's "Oh Lonesome Me" is one of the better renditions of the old chestnut. Much of the rest of the album feels more like filler than anything else, but every song features the voice of Johnny Cash, always an impressive thing to witness, and while there are many better collections of his recordings for Sun,on its own terms it's not a bad way to pass 25 minutes

Now Here's Johnny Cash is the tenth album by musician Johnny Cash. Released on Sun Records on 21 October 1958, the album consists primarily of Sun recordings that had yet to appear on album, though some tracks like "Cry! Cry! Cry!" had appeared on LP before. 

At this time, Cash had been recording for Columbia Records for several years, but Sun had amassed sufficient backlog of recordings that it was able to continue to release new singles and albums with at least partial new material into the early 1960s. "Hey Porter", one of Cash's first major hits for the label from 1955, appeared on album for the first time.

“Cry! Cry! Cry!” is a song that was written and performed by singer/song writer, Johnny Cash. The song was originally released in 1955 and entered the charts at #14. The early success of the song led to a featured spot on the Louisiana Hayride Tour and kicked off the career of Johnny Cash in the process. The song sold over 100,000 copies alone in the southern states. Cash then began to tour with Elvis Presley (among other artists from the record business) soon after its release.

In 1954, before the release of the song "Cry! Cry! Cry!," Cash signed with Sun Records after he came home from serving with the United States Air Force. During that time, he wrote the song “Hey, Porter” which was met with little excitement from the executives at his record label. He was then told to come back with a song that Sun Records owner, Sam Phillips, would be able to sell. Cash went home and wrote the song "Cry! Cry! Cry!" overnight and came back and performed it to Phillips the following day. The song was then coupled with "Hey Porter" and released as the B-side of the record. For the recording of the song, Johnny Cash was backed by "The Tennessee Two", Luther Perkins on guitar and Marshall Grant on bass.

 Johnny Cash - Main Performer
 Al Casey - Guitar

01. "Sugartime"  Odis Echols, Charlie Phillips  01:48
02. "Down the Street to 301"  Jack Clement  02:06
03. "Life Goes On"   Cash, Clement  02:02
04. "Port of Lonely Hearts"  Cash  02:36
05. "Cry! Cry! Cry!"  Cash  02:29
06. "My Treasure"   Cash  01:16
07. "Oh Lonesome Me"  Don Gibson  02:30
08. "So Doggone Lonesome"  Cash  02:37
09. "You're the Nearest Thing to Heaven"  Jim Atkins, Cash, Hoyt Johnson  02:40
10. "The Story of a Broken Heart"  Sam Phillips  02:11
11. "Hey, Porter"  Cash  02:15
12. "Home of the Blues"  Cash, Glen Douglas, Vic McAlpin  02:43