söndag 21 februari 2016

Traffic - John Barleycorn Must Die (UK 1970) (24-Bit)

250:- (24-Bit limited Remaster Edition. Albumet har samma sorts papper som original konvolutet. Svår att hitta.)

John Barleycorn Must Die is a 1970 album by English rock band Traffic. As did most of their albums, it featured many different genres of music including art rock, jazz rock, and many psychedelic influences.

The album was initially intended by Steve Winwood to be a solo album, but when Chris Wood and Jim Capaldi joined him, it became Traffic once more. The album was originally dubbed "Mad Shadows".

After recording the album early in 1970, it was released by Island Records and United Artists in July 1970. It became the first Traffic album to reach gold status.

Traffic was the eponymous rock album by the English rock band Traffic, ranging in style from psychedelic rock to acid jazz. It was their second release, in October 1968; it reached number 9 in the UK album charts on 26 October 1968, and reached number 17 in the Billboard charts in the United States.

After their debut album, Mr. Fantasy, Traffic planned a more mainstream album, possibly with fewer drug references and psychedelic influences. Before they began recording, they decided to reinstate Dave Mason. Mason ended up writing and singing half of the songs on the album, making very little contribution to the other half.

Chris Wood's flute playing on the album was compared to that of Ian Anderson from Jethro Tull, who is often thought of as the most famous rock flautist of all time.

Following the release of Traffic, the band embarked upon a tour of the United States but shortly thereafter fired Mason. 

At the conclusion of the tour, at the beginning of 1969, Winwood announced the breakup of Traffic. Winwood joined supergroup Blind Faith while the remaining members of Traffic (including Mason) worked on a project called Wooden Frog which never recorded an album. 

In 1970, Winwood reunited with Capaldi and Wood to release John Barleycorn Must Die.

01."Glad (Winwood)" 6:59
02."Freedom Rider" (Capaldi/Winwood) 5:30
03."Empty Pages" (Capaldi/Winwood) 4:34
04."I Just Want You to Know" (Capaldi/Winwood) 1:30
05."Stranger to Himself" (Capaldi/Winwood) 3:57
06."John Barleycorn" (Traditional/Winwood) 6:27

07."Every Mothers Son" (Capaldi/Winwood) 7:08
08."Sittin' Here Thinkin' of My Love" (Capaldi/Winwood) 3:33
09."Backstage and Introduction (live)" (Capaldi/Winwood) 1:50
10."Who Knows What Tomorrow May Bring (live)" (Capaldi/Winwood/Wood) 6:56
11."Glad (live)" (Winwood) 11:29