onsdag 27 januari 2016

Led Zeppelin - Physical Graffiti (SHM-CD) (2CD) (Classic Album UK 1975)

290:- (2CD, SHM-CD Limited Remaster Edition. UK utgåva med denna klassiker. Utgången utgåva för länge sedan och nu svår att hitta. Albumet är identiskt med originalalbumet från 1975.)

Physical Graffiti is the sixth studio album by the English rock band Led Zeppelin, released on 24 February 1975 as a double album two years after the album Houses of the Holy. The band wrote and recorded eight songs at Headley Grange which, when combined, stretched the album beyond the typical length of an LP. This prompted the band to make Physical Graffiti a double album by including previously unreleased tracks from earlier recording sessions. "Physical Graffiti" was Led Zeppelin's second most commercially successful release, selling eight million copies in the United States alone.

The album was released on 24 February 1975, at a time when Led Zeppelin were undertaking their tenth concert tour of North America. Delays in the production of the album's sleeve design prevented its release prior to the commencement of the tour.

Physical Graffiti initially took place in November 1973
at Headley Grange in East Hampshire, England
Physical Graffiti was the band's first release on their own Swan Song Records label, which had been launched in May 1974. Until this point, all of Led Zeppelin's albums had been released on Atlantic Records. The album was a commercial and critical success, having built up a huge advance order, and when eventually released it reached No. 1 on Billboard's Pop Albums chart. It has since proven to be one of the most popular releases by the group, shipping 8 million copies in the United States alone (which has made it 16 times platinum as it is a double album). Physical Graffiti was the first album to go platinum on advance orders alone. Shortly after its release, all previous Led Zeppelin albums simultaneously re-entered the top-200 album chart.

Billboard magazine's 5 star review of the album stated: "Physical Graffiti" is a tour de force through a number of musical styles, from straight rock to blues to folky acoustic to orchestral sounds." Similarly, Jim Miller stated in Rolling Stone that the double album was "the band's Tommy, Beggar's Banquet and Sgt. Pepper rolled into one: Physical Graffiti is Led Zeppelin's bid for artistic respectability.

Album sleeve design:
The album's sleeve design features a photograph of a New York City tenement block, with interchanging window illustrations. The album designer, Peter Corriston, was looking for a building that was symmetrical with interesting details, that was not obstructed by other objects and would fit the square album cover. He said:

"We walked around the city for a few weeks looking for the right building. I had come up [with] a concept for the band based on the tenement, people living there and moving in and out. The original album featured the building with the windows cut out on the cover and various sleeves that could be placed under the cover, filling the windows with the album title, track information or liner notes."

 House for front cover
96 and 98 St. Mark's Place, NY, USA
The two five-story buildings photographed for the album cover are located at 96 and 98 St. Mark's Place in New York City.

The original photograph underwent a number of tweaks to arrive at the final image. The fifth floor of the building had to be cropped out to fit the square album cover format.

The buildings to the left and right were also changed to match the style of the double front. Tiles were added on the roof section along with more faces. Part of the top right railing balcony was left out for a whole window frame to be visible. The front cover is a daytime shot, while the back cover (above) was taken at night.

Mike Doud is listed as the cover artist on the inner sleeve, and either the concept or design or both were his. He passed away in the early 1990s, and this album design was one of his crowning achievements in a lifetime of design.

In 1976 the album was nominated for a Grammy Award in the category of best album package. (Doud would later win a Grammy for best album cover of the year in 1980, for Supertramp's Breakfast in America).

The buildings on the album cover were the same ones that Keith Richards and Mick Jagger were filmed in front of in The Rolling Stones music video "Waiting on a Friend". There was a used clothing store in the basement of 96 St. Mark's Place called Physical Graffiti. There is currently a shop called Physical Graffitea. The building has been profiled on the television show, Rock Junket.

The original album jacket for the LP album included four covers made up of two inners (for each disc), a middle insert cover and an outer cover. The inner covers depict various objects and people (including photos of Plant and Richard Cole in drag) on each window. 

The middle insert cover is white and details all the album track listings and recording information. The outer cover has die-cut windows on the building, so when the middle cover is wrapped around the inner covers and slid into the outer cover, the title of the album is shown on the front cover, spelling out the name "Physical Graffiti".

 John Bonham – drums, percussion
 John Paul Jones – bass guitar, organ, acoustic and electric piano, mellotron, guitar, mandolin, VCS3 synthesiser, Hohner clavinet, Hammond organ, string arrangement
 Jimmy Page – electric, acoustic, lap steel and slide guitar, mandolin, production
 Robert Plant – lead vocals, harmonica, acoustic guitar on "Boogie with Stu"

 Some cassette and 8-track versions of the album place "Bron-Yr-Aur" immediately after "Kashmir"
 The running times listed for "Kashmir" and "Ten Years Gone" on original LP pressings, (and some compact   disc versions), of the album were significantly in error; "Kashmir" was listed at 9:41, "Ten Years Gone"   at 6:55.
 "Boogie with Stu" is credited to "Mrs. Valens, mother of Ritchie Valens". The credit came about after   the band had heard Valens' mother never received any royalties from any of her son's hits.

01. "Custard Pie" January–February 1974  4:13
02. "The Rover" May 1972  5:37
03. "In My Time of Dying" (John Bonham, John Paul Jones, Page, and Plant) January–February 1974  11:04
04. "Houses of the Holy" May 1972  4:02
05. "Trampled Under Foot" (Jones, Page, and Plant) January–February 1974  5:37
06. "Kashmir" (Bonham, Page, and Plant) January–February 1974  8:32

Disc 2
01. "In the Light" (Jones, Page, and Plant) January–February 1974  8:46
02. "Bron-Yr-Aur" (Page) July 1970  2:06
03. "Down by the Seaside" February 1971  5:13
04. "Ten Years Gone" January–February 1974  6:32
05. "Night Flight" (Jones, Page, and Plant) December 1970 – January 1971  3:36
06. "The Wanton Song" January–February 1974  4:10
07. "Boogie with Stu" (Bonham, Jones, Page, Plant, Ian Stewart) December 1970 – January 1971  3:53
08. "Black Country Woman" May 1972  4:24
09. "Sick Again" January–February 1974  4:42
Billboard Magazine Advertise 1975