onsdag 1 april 2015

Stack Waddy - Bugger Off (Tung och Rå Bluesrock UK 1972)

280:- (24-Bit Limited Remaster Edition. Ännu tyngre och råare än deras 1:a album. Albumet har 4 stjärnor på AMG. Rekommenderas.)

Bugger Off! is the second album by Stack Waddy, released in 1972 on Dandelion Records.

The album liner notes by Dandelion Records's owner and executive producer, John Peel, indicate each song was recorded in a single live take with the band refusing to make any kind of overdubbing or technical treatment on the resulting sound. He narrates that on one occasion he asked them to run through a song a second time and the band members yelled "Bugger Off!, Peel'", which gave rise to the album's title.

If you thought Stack Waddy's debut album was a brute, then their follow-up is positively antisocial. Titled with such a glaring eye for controversy that many U.K. record stores simply refused to stock it (but would the band countenance a name change? Would they hell!), Bugger Off! picked up where its predecessor left off, and rampaged on from there. Covers of Zappa's "Willy the Pimp" and the Kinks' "You Really Got Me" might have seemed a little obvious, but both are battered down with such a glorious lack of finesse that it's impossible to object -- anybody familiar with, respectively, Juicy Lucy and the Hammersmith Gorillas' versions of the same songs will come in with at least a vague idea of what to expect, but that's about it. 

"Hoochie Coochie Man" is even more disheveled, and when John Peel's liner notes reminisce on the group's insistence on recording live, you can tell he's not necessarily looking back with any fondness. On one occasion, he suggested they do a little overdubbing. The band's response to his words would become the album's title.

* John Knail - vocals, harmonica
* Steve Revell - drums
* Mick Stott - guitar
* Stuart Banham - bass

01. "Rosalyn" – 2:31
02. "Willie the Pimp" – 4:03
03. "I'm Your Hoochie Coochie Man" – 4:19
04. "It's All Over Now" – 3:13
05. "Several Yards" – 5:58
06. "You Really Got Me" – 2:43
07. "I'm a Lover Not a Fighter" – 2:05
08. "Meat Pies 'Ave Come but Band's Not 'Ere Yet" – 5:19
09. "It Ain't Easy" – 3:50
10. "Long Tall Shorty (Mainly)" – 3:26
11. "Repossession Boogie" – 5:32
12. "The Girl from Ipanema" - 1:27

Bonus Track:
13. "Mama Keep Your Big Mouth Shut" - 3:42