tisdag 17 februari 2015

Mott The Hoople - All the Young Dudes (Klassiker UK 1972)

270:- (24-Bit Limited Remaster Edition. Utgången utgåva för länge sedan.)

All the Young Dudes is an album by Mott the Hoople, released in 1972. Their initial album for the Columbia Records label, it was a turning point for the then-struggling British band. They were about to break up when David Bowie stepped in and gave them the song "All the Young Dudes". Bowie also produced the album, which took Mott "from potential has-beens to avatars of the glam rock movement". A remastered and expanded version was released by Sony BMG on the Columbia Legacy label in the United States and the United Kingdom on February 21, 2006.

The title track, "All the Young Dudes", was released as a single prior to the album and charted worldwide, becoming the "ultimate '70s glitterkid anthem". "Sweet Jane", a cover of the Velvet Underground song from their 1970 album Loaded, was issued as a single in Canada, Holland, Portugal, Spain and the United States, though not in their home market of the UK. "One of the Boys", originally the B-side of "All the Young Dudes", was also released in North America and Continental Europe.

In 2003, the album was ranked number 491 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.
"Ready for Love" was later reworked by Mick Ralphs's later band Bad Company on their self-titled debut.

Just at the moment Mott the Hoople were calling it a day, David Bowie swooped in and convinced them to stick around. Bowie spearheaded an image makeover, urging them to glam themselves up. He gave them a surefire hit with "All the Young Dudes," had them cover his idol's "Sweet Jane," and produced All the Young Dudes, the album that was designed to make them stars. 

Lo and behold, it did, which is as much a testament to Bowie's popularity as it is to his studio skill. 

Not to discount his assistance, since his production results in one of the most satisfying glam records and the title track is one of the all-time great rock songs, but the album wouldn't have worked if Mott hadn't already found its voice on Brain Capers. True, Dudes isn't nearly as wild as its predecessor, but the band's swagger is unmistakable underneath the flair and Ian Hunter remains on a songwriting roll, with "Momma's Little Jewel," "Sucker," and "One of the Boys" standing among his best. 

Take a close look at the credits, though — these were all co-written by his bandmates, and the other highlight, "Ready for Love/After Lights," is penned entirely by Mick Ralphs, who would later revive the first section with Bad Company. The entire band was on a roll here, turning out great performances and writing with vigor. They may not be as sexy as either Bowie or Bolan, but they make up for it with knowing humor, huge riffs, and terrific tunes, dressed up with style by Ziggy himself. No wonder it's not just a great Mott record — it's one of the defining glam platters.

01."Sweet Jane" (Lou Reed) – 4:21
02."Momma's Little Jewel" (Ian Hunter, Peter Watts) – 4:26
03."All the Young Dudes" (David Bowie) – 3:32
04."Sucker" (Hunter, Mick Ralphs, Watts) – 5:03
05."Jerkin' Crocus" (Hunter) – 4:00
06."One of the Boys" (Hunter, Ralphs) – 6:46
07."Soft Ground" (Verden Allen) – 3:17
08."Ready for Love/After Lights" (Ralphs) – 6:47
09."Sea Diver" (Hunter) – 2:53

Bonus Tracks:
10."One of the Boys" (Demo version) (Hunter, Ralphs) – 4:18 Produced by Mott the Hoople
11."Black Scorpio" (Demo version of "Momma’s Little Jewel") (Hunter, Watts) – 3:35 Produced by Mott the Hoople and Muff Winwood
12."Ride on the Sun" (Demo version of "Sea Diver") (Hunter) – 3:36 Produced by Mott the Hoople
13."One of the Boys" (UK single version) (Hunter, Ralphs) – 4:21 Produced by Mott the Hoople
14."All the Young Dudes" (David Bowie; Ian Hunter - vocal) (Bowie) – 4:25
15."Sucker" (Hunter, Ralph, Watts) – 6:27 Live 1973 at the Hammersmith Odeon; produced by Dale "Buffin" Griffin
16."Sweet Jane" (Reed) – 5:00 Live 1973 at the Hammersmith Odeon; produced by Dale "Buffin" Griffin