onsdag 2 april 2014

Dr. Feelgood - Stupidity (Classic Live Album UK 1976)

280:- (24-Bit Limited Remaster Edition. Promo Obi. Utgången utgåva för länge sedan. Svår att hitta nu.)

Stupidity was the third album by Dr. Feelgood, released in September 1976. It was their first live album recording.

Their mushrooming popularity was confirmed when live set Stupidity (1976) topped the UK charts.

The album reached number 1 in the UK Albums Chart in October 1976 (for one week), and remained in that chart for nine weeks. It was the first live album to go to No 1 in the UK album chart, in its first week of release.[3] It was Dr. Feelgood's first and, to date, only recording to reach number 1, and appeared over eight months before their first single entered the corresponding UK Singles Chart - "Sneakin' Suspicion" (June 1977).

Along with Rock Follies in 1976, it reached the top spot in the UK without the benefit of a hit single.

Comprised of recordings taken from 1975 tours, the live Stupidity finally captures the relentless, hard-driving energy of Dr. Feelgood at their peak. All the music on Stupidity is presented raw and without overdubs, making it clear that the dynamic friction between guitarist Wilko Johnson and vocalist Lee Brilleaux could propel the band toward greatness. While many of the versions here don't differ in form from the original studio versions, these unvarnished performances are considerably more exciting, revealing the Johnson originals "She Does It Right" and "All Through the City" as minor rock & roll classics. 

The original vinyl album had the first seven tracks, recorded in Sheffield, on Side 1, and the next six tracks, recorded in Southend, on Side 2. The final two tracks, recorded in Aylesbury, were on a free single, only issued with the first 20,000 copies, making this a collector's item.  This is, however, contradicted on the back of the 1998 Grand Records re-release (GRANDCD 21), which states that tracks 8-15 were all recorded at Southend.

01."Talking About You" (Chuck Berry)

02."20 Yards Behind"
03."Stupidity" (Solomon Burke)
04."All Through The City"
05."I'm a Man" (Bo Diddley)
06."Walking The Dog" (Rufus Thomas)
07."She Does It Right"
08."Going Back Home" (Mick Green, Johnson)
09."I Don't Mind"
10."Back in the Night"
11."I'm a Hog for you Baby" (Leiber, Stoller)
12."Checking Up on My Baby" (Sonny Boy Williamson)