tisdag 31 december 2013

Richard Hell and the Voidoids - Blank Generation (Great Punk US 1977)

290:- (24-Bit Limited Remaster Edition. Kassiker!!!)

Richard Hell and the Voidoids were an American rock band from the first wave of punk rock, fronted by Richard Hell, a former member of the Neon Boys, Television and the Heartbreakers. Formed in New York City, at various times the band included influential guitarist Robert Quine, Ivan Julian, Naux Maciel, Michael Allison, Jahn Xavier, former Contortions and Raybeats guitarist Jody Harris,Golden Palominos leader Anton Fier, and future Ramone Marc Bell.
The Voidoids are considered to have pioneered the punk look and studded appearance which became commonplace around the time of the Sex Pistols.
Blank Generation is the debut studio album by American punk rock band Richard Hell and the Voidoids. It was produced by Richard Gottehrer and released in September 1977 on Sire Records. The title track is loosely based on the single "The Beat Generation", a late-1950s collaboration between Bob McFadden and poet Rod McKuen.

The original album sleeve features a front cover photo of frontman Richard Hell in black jeans and shirtless, opening a frayed jacket to reveal the phrase "YOU MAKE ME _______" written across his chest. The photo was taken by CBGB's unofficial photographer Roberta Bayley. The back cover featured a posed photo of Hell and the Voidoids taken by Kate Simon.

AllMusic called Blank Generation "one of the most powerful [albums] to come from punk's first wave" and "groundbreaking punk rock that followed no one's template, and today it sounds just as fresh—and nearly as abrasive—as it did when it first hit the racks." BBC Music was positive of the album in its 2007 review, calling it "a thrilling and improbably poignant listening experience".

01. "Love Comes in Spurts"  2:03

02. "Liars Beware"  Hell, Ivan Julian   2:52
03. "New Pleasure"  1:58
04. "Betrayal Takes Two"  Hell, Julian 3:37
05. "Down at the Rock and Roll Club"  4:05
06. "Who Says?"   2:07
07. "Blank Generation"   2:45
08. "Walking on the Water"  John Fogerty, Tom Fogerty
09. "The Plan"   3:56
10. "Another World"  8:14