tisdag 17 september 2013

Strawbs - Strawberry Music Sampler No. 1 (UK 1969)

270:- (24-Bit Limited Remaster Edition + Bonus CD Single.)

Private pressing stereo LP UK 1969 in 99 copies.

The Sampler was released as a publishers' demo record - a run of less than 100 copies - designed to get other artists to cover Cousins' and Hooper's songs. Its importance for Strawbs fans is that it includes all the tracks culled from the first version of the group's first album, as well as a few other demos and early versions. It was produced between the first Strawbs album and Dragonfly.

Private pressing cover 1969
Strawberry Sampler Number 1 is a studio album by English band Strawbs. It was originally released as a publisher's demonstration record, intended to advertise Dave Cousins's and Tony Hooper's songs to other artists. Most of the songs were re-recorded by the band on later albums ("Ah Me, Ah My" was used unchanged on the Grave New World album).

The initial white label pressing ran to 99 copies on 12-inch vinyl pressings. There are only two known vinyl copies in existence, making these one of the UK's most collectable records. In November 2012 a copy was auctioned on Ebay and sold for a final bid of £909.88.

The personnel are not listed on the album cover but the following is likely:
Dave Cousins – lead vocals, backing vocals, acoustic guitar, banjo
Tony Hooper – lead vocals, backing vocals, acoustic guitar
Sandy Denny – lead vocals, backing vocals, acoustic guitar
Ron Chesterman – double bass

01. "All I Need is You" (Dave Cousins) – 3:07

02. "Stay Awhile With Me" (Cousins) – 2:41
03. "Sail Away to the Sea" (Cousins) – 3:28
04. "Two Weeks Last Summer" (Cousins) – 2:06
05. "Nothing Else Will Do" (Cousins) - 2:16
06. "Who Knows Where the Time Goes" (Sandy Denny) – 4:09
07. "I've Been My Own Worst Friend" (Cousins) – 2:43
08. "I Turned My Face into the Wind" (Cousins) – 2:41
09. "On Growing Older" (Cousins) – 2:00
10. "And You Need Me" (Cousins) – 3:16
11. "Ah Me, Ah My" (Tony Hooper) – 1:22
12. "And You Need Me"/"Josephine for Better or for Worse" (Cousins) – 4:29
13. "Just the Same in Every Way" (Cousins) – 3:01
14. "How Everyone But Sam Was a Hypocrite" (Cousins) – 2:47
15. "Young Again" (Hooper) – 2:56
16. "Whichever Way the Wind Blows" (Cousins) – 2:52
17. "Sweetling" (Hooper) – 3:05