onsdag 14 augusti 2013

Faust - Faust so Far (Progressive Rock Germany 1972)

260:- (SHM-CD Limited Remaster Edition. Komplett med alla bilder i en mapp.)

Faust's second album moves closer to actual song structure than their debut, but it still remains experimental. Songs progress and evolve instead of abruptly stopping or cutting into other tracks. The opening song "It's a Rainy Day, Sunshine Girl" begins as a repetitive 4/4 beat played on toms and piano with the title sung over the top. But for seven minutes the song adds instruments, including a lush analog synth line, and ends in a memorable sax riff. Faust's lyrical side appears on the acoustic "Picnic on a Frozen River" and "On the Way to Adamäe," whereas its abrasive side pops up on "Me Lack Space." "So Far," a jam shared by guitar, horns, and tweedy keyboard, rolls along with a funky hypnotic beat and wailing processed synths. And on "No Harm," the crazed delivery of such lines as "Daddy, take the banana, tomorrow Sunday" makes one want to believe something profound is going down. In terms of scope and the wealth of ideas, this is probably the most balanced of their first four albums.

Faust So Far is a 1972 album by German krautrock group Faust. This, the band's second studio album, has a more commercially typical structure than its predecessor; it comprises nine separate tracks, each consisting of an individual and distinct musical style or theme. The album was issued in a black sleeve with black inner sleeve, black labels and a set of inserts with one print for each song on the album; in the 1980s, Recommended Records sold a vinyl edition that lacked the inserts, but these have reappeared in the currently available vinyl edition.

01. "It's a Rainy Day, Sunshine Girl" (Sosna) – 7:31

02. "On the Way to Abamäe" – 2:46
03. "No Harm" (Péron) – 10:22
04. "So Far" – 6:20
05. "Mamie Is Blue" (Sosna) – 6:05
06. "I've Got My Car and My TV" (Sosna) – 3:51
07. "Picnic on a Frozen River" – 0:43
08. "Me Lack Space..." – 0:41
09. "...In the Spirit" – 2:16