tisdag 2 juli 2013

The Soft Machine - S/T (1a Albumet UK 1968) (SHM-CD)

280:- (SHM-CD Limited Remaster Edition, med 2 bonuslåtar)

The Soft Machine, as reissue also titled "Volume One", is the debut album by the British psychedelic rock band Soft Machine, one of the central bands in the Canterbury scene. The band, founded in 1966, recorded and released this studio album during their 1968 tour of the USA. It was produced by Chas Chandler and Tom Wilson.

A wild, freewheeling, and ultimately successful attempt to merge psychedelia with jazz-rock, Soft Machine's debut ranges between lovingly performed oblique pop songs and deranged ensemble playing from drummer/vocalist Robert Wyatt and organist Mike Ratledge. With only one real break (at the end of side one), the songs merge into each other — not always smoothly, but always with a sense of flair that rescues any potential miscues. Wyatt takes most of the vocals, and proves himself a surprisingly evocative singer despite his lack of range. Like Pink Floyd's The Piper at the Gates of Dawn, Volume One was one of the few over-ambitious records of the psychedelic era that actually delivered on all its incredible promise.

01. "Hope for Happiness" (Brian Hopper, arr. Robert Wyatt / Mike Ratledge / Kevin Ayers) – 4:21
02. "Joy of a Toy" (Ayers / Ratledge) – 2:49
03. "Hope for Happiness (reprise)" (B. Hopper, arr. Wyatt / Ratledge / Ayers) – 1:38
04. "Why Am I So Short?" (Hugh Hopper / Wyatt) – 1:39
05. "So Boot If At All" (Ratlege / Ayers / Wyatt) – 7:25
06. "A Certain Kind" (H. Hopper) – 4:11
07. "Save Yourself" (Wyatt) – 2:26
08. "Priscilla" (Ayers / Ratledge / Wyatt) – 1:03
09. "Lullabye Letter" (Ayers) – 4:32
10. "We Did It Again" (Ayers) – 3:46
11. "Plus Belle qu'une Poubelle" (Ayers) – 1:03
12. "Why Are We Sleeping?" (Ayers / Ratledge / Wyatt) – 5:30
13. "Box 25/4 Lid" (Ratledge / H. Hopper) – 0:49

14. Love Makes Sweet Music (Mono)
15. Feelin' Reelin' Squeelin' (Mono)