fredag 26 oktober 2012

Mother Tuckers Yellow Duck - Starting a New Day (US 1970)

200:- (Korea, 24-Bit Limited Remaster Edition. Suveränt album US 1970)

An excellent second album of this Canadian folk rockers released in 1970. Smooth blending of folk, country rock, west coast vibe and some heavy electricguitar riffs.

Formed in Vancouver, Quebec in 1968, their first 45 has become their most sought-after item. Described on their second album as a mixture of psychedelic rock, blues-rock, jazz-rock with an overall country flavour their material is an enjoyable and diverse mixture of styles.

The first album is the stronger of the two, being the less country-influenced and more psychedelic. Crammed with excellent guitar-work throughout and fine harmony vocal arrangements, the highlights include the uptempo Times Are Changing, the great country-rocker One Glass For Wine, the dynamic lick-laden One Ring Jane, the sublime melancholy of Funny Feeling and the climatic slow-burning finale of Somebody Think, which can also be appreciated on Echoes In Time, Vol. 1. Recommended - an album to savour. The group was slated for inclusion on the Cool-Aid Benefit album but either Capitol or their management put the nix on it! 

The second effort has less highlights but is still enjoyable. Both are quite hard to find nowadays and have a very high level of musicianship. 

01. Starting A New Day

02. Love's Been A Long Time Coming
03. Middlefield County
04. True Blues
05. Natchez Theme (For Natchez)
06. Wood U Call It
07. Nightfowl
08. Did You Ever
09. Collin's Breakdown
10. A Play On Children