onsdag 11 januari 2012

Santana - Abraxas (US 1970)

260:- (Sony Korea, 24-Bit Limited Remaster Edition.)

Abraxas is the second studio album by the Latin influenced rock band Santana. Consolidating their highly acclaimed live performance at the Woodstock Festival in August 1969, and the interest generated by their first album, Santana (released in May 1969), the band took some time to issue a follow-up. Released in September, 1970, the album's mix of rock, blues, jazz, salsa and other influences made it a classic that defined Santana's early sound, and showed a musical maturation from their first album.

The title of the album comes from a line from Herman Hesse's book Demian, which is quoted on the album's back cover: "We stood before it and began to freeze inside from the exertion. We questioned the painting, berated it, made love to it, prayed to it: We called it mother, called it whore and slut, called it our beloved, called it Abraxas...." The word "Abraxas" has use within Gnostic cosmology.

01. "Singing Winds, Crying Beasts [Instrumental]" Carabello 4:51
02. "Black Magic Woman/Gypsy Queen" Green/Szabo 5:22
03. "Oye Como Va" Puente 4:16
04. "Incident at Neshabur [Instrumental]" Gianquinto, Santana 4:57
05. "Se a Cabo" Areas 2:50
06. "Mother's Daughter" Rolie 4:25
07. "Samba Pa Ti [Instrumental]" Santana 4:54
08. "Hope You're Feeling Better" Rolie 4:11
09. "El Nicoya" Areas 1:30