fredag 10 juni 2011

The Kinks - Kinda Kinks (UK 1965)

120:- (24-Bit Limited Remaster Edition. Utgången utgåva.)

The Kinks' second album, Kinda Kinks, was rush-recorded on either side (and in the midst) of a world tour that took them all the way to Australia in the course of bridging the 1964-1965 New Year. Under those circumstances, the fact that every cut but one was an original was no small tribute to the songwriting ability of Ray Davies, even if most of the songs were less than first-rate — because what was first-rate was also highly memorable, and what wasn't also wasn't bad. In the space of two frantic late-December and mid-January sessions, and a brutal week in February of 1965, the group cut 11 songs to fill out a long-player that was already destined to contain "Tired of Waiting for You" (a product of the previous summer's work, held back by producer Shel Talmy for a single).

Also along for the ride were the latter's driving B-side "Come on Now" and "Something Better Beginning" (both cut in December 1964). So the resulting record was uneven but filled with promise, and possessed of at least three bright spots — additionally, and equally important, this album showcased a much more sophisticated sound, Dave Davies' guitar turned down (and even switched to acoustic in a couple of spots) as Ray Davies began exploring aspects of emotions and storytelling that transcended anything in the group's prior output — "Nothin' in This World Can Stop Me Worryin' 'Bout That Girl" may have been a mouthful of a title, but it also put them right in the front of the British Invasion pack for seriousness and complexity, out in front of where the Beatles or almost any of the competition were in early 1965, but it didn't stop them from switching gears to the bluesy "Naggin' Woman."

01."Look for Me Baby" – 2:17
02."Got My Feet on the Ground" (Ray Davies/Dave Davies) – 2:14
03."Nothin' in the World Can Stop Me Worryin' 'Bout That Girl" – 2:44
04."Naggin' Woman" (Anderson, West) – 2:36
05."Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight" – 2:01
06."Tired of Waiting for You" – 2:31
07."Dancing in the Street" (Gaye, Stevenson, Hunter) – 2:20
08."Don't Ever Change" – 2:25
09."Come on Now" – 1:49
10."So Long" – 2:10
11."You Shouldn't Be Sad" – 2:03
12."Something Better Beginning" – 2:26

13."Ev'rybody's Gonna Be Happy" – 2:16
14."Who'll Be the Next in Line" – 2:02
15."Set Me Free" – 2:12
16."I Need You" – 2:26
17."See My Friends" – 2:46
18."Never Met a Girl Like You Before" – 2:05
19."Wait Till the Summer Comes Along" (Dave Davies) – 2:07
20."Such a Shame" – 2:19
21."A Well Respected Man" – 2:43
22."Don't You Fret" – 2:45
23."I Go to Sleep" [demo version] – 2:42