tisdag 28 december 2010

Thin Lizzy - S/T (1a Albumet UK 1971)


330:- (SHM-CD Limited Remaster Edition)

Thin Lizzy were originally conceived as a power trio in the image of Cream and the Jimi Hendrix Experience, but Eric Bell lacked the charisma of these groups' guitarists, forcing vocalist/bassist Philip Lynott to take center stage from day one. Despite his already poetic, intensely personal lyrics, Lynott was only beginning to develop as a songwriter, and the band's unfocused, folk-infused early efforts are a far cry from their mid-'70s hard rock glory.

Recorded on a shoestring budget, their self-titled debut is surprisingly mellow; many songs, such as "Clifton Grange Hotel" and "The Friendly Ranger of Clontarf Castle," sound confused and unfinished. Quiet ballads like "Honesty Is No Excuse," "Eire," and "Saga of the Ageing Orphan" abound, while supposed rockers such as "Ray-Gun" and "Return of the Farmer's Son" fall remarkably flat. In fact, Lizzy only bare their claws on "Look What the Wind Blew In," a gutsy rocker that hints at things to come. Four bonus tracks (originally released as singles) were added to this CD reissue, and of these "Things Ain't Working Out Down at the Farm" is quite memorable, while the mournful "Dublin" contains Lynott's first great lyric.

01."The Friendly Ranger at Clontarf Castle" (Eric Bell, Phil Lynott) – 2:57
02."Honesty Is No Excuse" (Lynott) – 3:34
03."Diddy Levine" (Lynott) – 3:52
04."Ray-Gun" (Bell) – 2:58
05."Look What the Wind Blew In" (Lynott) – 3:16
06."Éire" (Lynott) – 2:04
07."Return of the Farmer's Son" (Brian Downey, Lynott) – 4:05
08."Clifton Grange Hotel" (Lynott) – 2:22
09."Saga of the Ageing Orphan" (Lynott) – 3:39
10."Remembering, Pt. 1" (Lynott) – 5:57

11. Farmer, The
12. Dublin
13. Remembering (Part Two): New Day
14. Old Moon Madness
15. Things Ain't Working Out Down at the Farm
16. Look What The Wind Blew In [1977 Overdubbed & Remixed Version] - (remix)
17. Honesty is No Excuse [1977 Overdubbed & Remixed Version] - (remix)
18. Dublin [1977 Overdubbed & Remixed Version] - (remix)
19. Things Ain't Working Out Down at the Farm [1977 Overdubbed & Remixed Version] - (remix)