måndag 16 februari 2009

The Music Machine - Turn On (Great Garagerock US 1966)

230:- (24-Bit Limited Remaster Edition, klassiker, given i skivsamlingen.)

The Music Machine (1965-1969) was an American garage rock and psychedelic (sometimes referred to as garage punk) band from the late 1960s, headed by singer-songwriter Sean Bonniwell and based in Los Angeles. The band sound was often defined by fuzzy guitars and a Farfisa organ. Their original look comprised of all-black clothing and black moptop hairstyles. Bonniwell was known to wear a single black glove.

The group came together as The Ragamuffins in 1965, but became The Music Machine in 1966. The single "Talk Talk" was recorded at RCA studios on July 30, 1966.

Their debut album, (Turn On) The Music Machine, was released in 1966 on the Original Sound label. Seven of the twelve tracks were originals, written by Bonniwell. One of these, "Talk Talk," became a Top 20 hit in the U.S. The follow-up single, "The People In Me," peaked at #66. Bonniwell blamed the weak showing of this single on a supposed feud between the band's manager and a top record executive. Four cover songs were included on this release, due to record company pressure.

After a promotional tour of the U.S., the rest of the original line-up, which 
included Ron Edgar (drums), Mark Landon (guitar), Keith Olsen (bass) and Doug Rhodes (organ), left Bonniwell, due to internal conflicts. In 1967, Music Machine (essentially only Bonniwell at this point) were signed to Warner Bros. and re-named The Bonniwell Music Machine. The name was changed to give more prominence to the band's core member, songwriter and vocalist Sean Bonniwell. A self-titled LP was released that year, made up mostly of previously recorded singles with the original line-up. The recording spawned no big hits, despite the inclusion of a few more pop-oriented songs.

A third album was recorded but never released.

01. Talk Talk
02. Trouble
03. Cherry, Cherry
04. Taxman
05. Some Other Drum
06. Masculine Intuition
07. People In Me
08. See See Rider
09. Wrong
10. 96 Tears
11. Come On In
12. Hey Joe

13. Double Yellow Line (Bonus Track)
14. Absolutely Positively (Bonus Track)
15. Eagle Never Hunts The Fly (Bonus Track)
16. I've Loved You (Bonus Track)